Livestock Research for Rural Development

Volume 14, Number 2

 

Editorial Procedures and Notes for Authors

Editorial policy

The mission of LRRD is to:

To this end the journal publishes both full-length papers and short communications (posters) describing the results of research that relate to the theme of sustainable rural development. Guidelines  for the preparation of  papers and posters are given in the section on Notes for Authors.


Submitting papers and posters to LRRD

Papers and posters should be sent by E-mail or on diskette to the Senior Editor regpreston@utafoundation.org. If acknowledgement is not received within two weeks (in the case of E-mail) then authors should send a reminder to the Senior Editor with details of the file names and dates sent. The papers can be written with the aid of any of the principal word processing software programs and if sent as e-mail should be as attachments or "compressed and UUENCODED" files.   Further details are given in "notes for authors".


Editing papers for LRRD

The procedure is as follows

The responsibility of the reviewers, including members of the Editorial Committee, is:

The members of the Editorial Committee are:
The present list of reviewers (in process of extension) is:

 

Alessandro Finzi finzi@unitus.it af
Andrew Speedy andrew.speedy@fao.org as
Bill Thorpe w.thorpe@cgnet.com wt
Chedley Kayouli chedly.kayouli@gnet.tn ck
Christophe Dalibard dalibard@eti.net.gn cd
Dieter Plasse   passal@cantv.net dp
Enrique Murgueitio enriquem@cipav.org.co em
Fallou Guye efgueye@refer.sn efg
Frands Dolberg frands@mail1.stofanet.dk fd
Hanne Hansen Hanne.Hansen@ihh.kvl.dk hh
Hans Jensen askov@poultry-development.dk hj
Javier Quezado   qeuan@tunku.uady.mx jq
Jiaqi Wang wangjiaq@public3.bta.net.cn jw
Jsus A Arango arangoj@camelot.rect.ucv.ve ja
Jorge Combellas jcombell@telcel.net.ve jc
Jose Bento S Ferraz jbferraz@usp.br jf
Juan Ku Vera kuvera@sureste.com jkv
Juan Carlos Chirgwin juancarlos_chirgwin@yahoo.it jcc
Julio Ly julioly@uta.edu.kh jl
Jurjen Draayer Jurjen.Draayer@fao.org jd
Jian-Xin Liu jxliu@zju.edu.cn liu
Mauricio Rosales mauricio.rosales@fao.org mr
Niels Kyvsgaard Niels.C.Kyvsgaard@vetmi.kvl.dk nk
Rena Perez renasperez@hotmail.com rp
Rene Sansoucy renesansoucy@aol.com rs
Simon Anderson SiAnderson@compuserve.com sa
Stephen Lukefahr s-lukefahr@tamuk.edu sl
Stephen Slippers SlippersS@nu.ac.za ss
Thomas Bernet t.bernet@cgiar.org tb

Responsibility for posting the papers on the Home Page of LRRD is with CIPAV (Hector Osorio)


Notes for Authors

The principle tools for publishing the journal are now: Corel Office 2000 (Word Perfect), Lotus 123, Microsoft Office 97 or 2000 (MS Word and Excel) and Star Office 5.2. These are the preferred formats for receiving papers and posters..

Authors should examine carefully recent papers and posters in the journal and follow the style currently in use. Where possible, please always supply the original spreadsheets and data which were used to produce graphics in the papers, since this allows us to produce a uniform look and maintain the quality of the finished journal. Likewise, if you have tabulated data in your paper, please format it using a table, and not tabs and spaces since tables are very well supported in HTML format. When using the tabular format please allot a new cell  to each piece of data. Tables that have more than one line in a cell may appear normal in "MS Word" or  "Word Perfect" but they become distorted when converted to HTML.

References should be set up with minimum punctuation but maximum detail of the actual citation. Abbreviations of journal titles should not be used.  In the list of references, citations to "Livestock Research for Rural Development" should include the appropriate "URL" for the article. For example:

Guye E F,  Ndiaye A and  Branckaert R D S 1998 Prediction of body weight on the basis of body measurements in mature indigenous chickens in Senegal; Livestock Research for Rural Development. Volume 10, Number 3: http://www.cipav.org.co/lrrd/lrrd10/3/sene103.htm

PLEASE use the Spell-Check and ensure that references in the text are in the reference list and vice versa. An easy way to check this latter point is to print the reference list and then from the beginning of the text to use the "FIND" command and type "19" and then "20". This will locate all the references assuming you have cited correctly the source including the date.

 

Return to top